Holiday and spa town
Bad Mergentheim

Bad Mergentheim

Take a little time to discover the special atmosphere of Bad Mergentheim, the romantic holiday and town of health in the heart of the charming Tauber Valley and directly on the Romantic Road.

Town Information

Bad Mergentheim

Get your own picture of Bad Mergentheim: flowering meadows along the Tauber, sun-drenched vineyards, one of the most beautiful spa gardens in Germany, the lively pedestrian area with its attractive shops and cafés that invite you to linger there.

more information

Town Walk

Twin houses at the Marktplatz in Bad Mergentheim

1. Twin Houses, Marktplatz

The two houses opposite the Old Town Hall are called twin houses. Built in 1780 in early-classical style, the buildings are almost identical architecturally and are connected to each other via an arched portal. The town’s high design and development requirement in force at the time is clear to see.

Münster St. Johannes in Bad Mergentheim

2. Münster St. Johannes, Kirchstraße

Ever since it was built, the Johanneskirche has been the people’s church (in contrast to the Hofkirche [Court Church]) in the castle and the Marienkirche in the Dominican monastery). The Order of Saint John played a significant part as patron in its construction. In place of the former chapel, which was consecrated to St. Kilian, it was built according to the latest research between 1270 and 1290 and was made the Catholic Münsterkirche (Minster Church) in 1983. In the years that followed, numerous renovations and alteration work changed its original spatial impact.

St. Bernhard in Mühlwehrstraße, Bad Mergentheim

3. St. Bernhard, Mühlwehrstraße

The magnificent emblem over the entrance gate reminds you of the fact that this property once belonged to the Cistercian Order of Schöntal. The current building and chapel, which is characterised by a portal, date back to the 18th century.

Welcome to Each and Every Season

It doesn’t matter when you come to us, Bad Mergentheim is always an experience.

read more

Impressions

Stadt
Bad Mergentheim

Bad Mergentheim

Nehmen Sie sich ein wenig Zeit und entdecken Sie die besondere Atmosphäre der romantischen Urlaubs- und Gesundheitsstadt Bad Mergentheim mitten im Lieblichen Taubertal und direkt an der Romantischen Straße.

Stadtinformationen

Stadtrundgang

Zwillingshäuser am Marktplatz

1. Zwillingshäuser, Marktplatz

Die beiden dem Alten Rathaus gegenüberliegenden Häuser werden als Zwillingshäuser bezeichnet. 1780 im frühklassizistischen Stil errichtet, sind die Gebäude architektonisch nahezu identisch und durch einen Portalbogen miteinander verbunden. An ihnen ist der damals geltende hohe gestalterische und städtebauliche Anspruch in der Stadt ablesbar.

Münster St. Johannes

2. Münster St. Johannes, Kirchstraße

Die Johanneskirche ist seit ihrem Bestehen die Kirche der Bürgerschaft (im Gegensatz zur Hofkirche im Schloss und der Marienkirche im Dominikanerkloster). Der Johanniterorden als Patronatsherr war an ihrer Errichtung maßgebend beteiligt. Anstelle einer vormaligen Kapelle, die dem Hl. Kilian geweiht war, wurde sie, nach neuesten Forschungen, zwischen 1270 und 1290 erbaut und 1983 zur katholischen Münsterkirche erhoben. Zahlreiche Um- und Anbauten in der folgenden Zeit veränderten die ursprüngliche Raumwirkung.

St. Bernhard

3. St. Bernhard, Mühlwehrstraße

Das prunkvolle Wappen über dem Eingangstor erinnert daran, dass dieses Anwesen einst zum Besitz der Zisterzienser von Schöntal gehörte. Das heutige Gebäude und die durch ein Portal gekennzeichnete Kapelle stammen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert.

Impressionen